More than 250 principal buildings are grouped on a 650-acre plateau, which constitutes the main part of campus. The University moved to its present location in 1926. Theodore C. Link was chosen to create the original campus master plan marked by red pantile roofs, overhanging eaves, and honey-colored stucco.
LSU Through the Years
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical Collegehad its origin in land grants made by the United States government in 1806, 1811 and 1827 for use as a seminary of learning. In 1853, the Louisiana General Assembly established the Seminary of Learning of the State of Louisiana near Pineville, La. The institution opened January 2, 1860. This photo gallery represents a few moments in LSU’s rich history.