Baton Rouge is home to 300 years of history. Because of this, it comes as no surprise that some of its attractions hold historic nods to our past as well! From a historic train station to underground passageways, discover what’s behind the curtain in Louisiana’s Capital City. Check out some of the places you wouldn't believe what it was known as before now!
The Louisiana Art and Science Museum features exhibitions of internationally renowned artists, a permanent art collection, a state-of-the-art Pennington Planetarium and even a mummy. This museum is housed inside the renovated historic Illinois Central Railroad Depot built by the Yazoo-Mississippi Valley Railroad Company in the 1970s.
What once was known as the headquarters for the Louisiana Trust & Savings Bank in 1927, the iconic skyscraper is now the home of the WATERMARK Baton Rouge. Today the luxurious hotel welcomes visitors from all over the country and the world. Additionally, the old bank vaults in the building have been converted into usable meeting space for guests and meeting attendees.
Built in 1927, the Heidelberg Hotel, now our Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, sits along the Mississippi River and is storied to be one of the favorite haunts of Huey P. Long, Louisiana’s legendary governor known as The Kingfish. The governor had a tunnel built to connect to its neighboring hotel, the King Hotel, to allegedly come and go from visiting his mistress and avoid the media. Now, the Hilton uses the tunnel space as into a unique social venue for dining and cocktails that can be rented out. The hotel was briefly used as the Louisiana State Capitol during a power struggle between Huey and Paul Cyr, Lieutenant Governor.
Speaking of the King Hotel, this boutique hotel is known today as Hotel Indigo. Former Louisiana Governor Huey reportedly kept rooms at the hotel to keep an eye on who went in and out of the capitol building at that time. The hotel was converted to a dormitory during the Depression and then a state office building during the 1920s.
Electric Depot is home to shopping, eateries, a social bowling venue, and more. Discover what used to be the Baton Rouge Electric and Gas Company which now holds 103 years of history. Walk beneath the grand brick masonry, gaze up at the exposed industrial steel, and take in the fresh air of our Mid-City neighborhood. Stop at Red Stick Social for live music or go to Sweet Society for an Asian-inspired treat. Either way, you won't be disappointed by the charm of this quaint building.
Pastime used to be the site of Alesce's Grocery in the early 1920's. During this time, the store sat at the corner of South Boulevard and a gravel road that is now known as Nicholson Drive. The grocery store later evolved into a restaurant and lounge in 1945. Now, it's nearly 80 years later and the restaurant still serves up some of the tastiest slices of pizza, burgers, and hot dogs you'll ever eat.